MGMT 2110 - Organizational Behavior (Fall 2023): Other Helpful Databases

ProQuest-- A platform consisting of multiple databases which provide access to the full text of a large collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. in various disciplines.

To access, go to Library Home > Databases > P > ProQuest

Key search steps:

• Use "Advanced Search"
• Source type: Scholarly journals
• Refine your results (search fields, date range, etc.)
• Check the cited references in a relevant article; these references can be useful to your paper
• Save references in APA format

To learn how to navigate ProQuest, visit the database guide.

Citation chaining helps you find papers by following citations through a chain of scholarly articles. It helps you trace the development of a research idea or theory over time. 

Method:

• usually start with a "perfect" article in hand (also called "seed" article)
• can be in two directions: Backward searching and forward searching based on this perfect article

Tools:

• Library's PowerSearch, Google Scholar, Web of Science, Scopus, Semantic Scholar, etc.
• Learn more from Citation Chaining Tools

Factiva -- A huge news article and business information database, which covers over 32,000 sources from 200 countries in 28 languages.

To access, go to Library Home > Databases > F > Factiva

Examples of sources:

• Newspapers: South China Morning Post, The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, The Guardian, Straits Times, etc.
• Magazines, Journals & Tade Publications: Forbes, Newsweek, etc.
• Newswires: Reuters, Dow Jones, The Associated Press, etc.
• TV or Radio Podcasts: BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, etc.

To learn how to navigate Factiva, visit the database guide.

PowerSearch

Click these icons near the article title or on the article record page to explore related articles.

Near article title from result list: On the article record page:

Find sources cited in this article, i.e. "references" (Backward searching) Find sources that are citing this article  (Forward searching) See a sample article

Remember:

The citing or cited articles you got are those available in PowerSearch. Try multiple platforms if you want to get more exhausive results.

Google Scholar

Click on the citation numbers to explore related articles.

• Cited by # - Find articles that are citing this article (Forward searching)

Can also check:

• Related articles - Find more related works based on Google's algorithm

Sample record on Google Scholar: Aerodynamic analysis of SARS-CoV-2 in two Wuhan hospitals (citation information accuracy as of 21 Jul 2022)