LibGuides: Mathematics: Articles

Articles Databases

MathSciNet
Provides citations and reviews to international literature in mathematics and related areas. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, and books. It is composed of two subfiles: Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, the former is updated monthly and the latter is updated daily.
Web of Science
Provides web access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science and Humanities. SCIE covers 7,100 international science and engineering journals. SSCI covers 2,100 social science and business journals worldwide.
Scopus
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals, 750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade publications from over 4,000 international publishers. Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to over 2,500 full-text journals published by Elsevier and its affiliate imprints. ScienceDirect has extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine.

Tools to speed up full-text access

LibKey

provides instant links to full-text content for articles subscribed by the library or open access alternatives, no matter when you are on- or off-campus.

Add LibKey extension to your browser (support Chrome, Firefox, Edge, etc.)

Choose Browser & Install

Select "Hong Kong University of Science and Technology" - it's DONE!

Try searching for an article on Google Scholar, a database, or a journal's page. Click the Download button to get the PDF or link to another available version.

Example 1: A journal article's page

Example 2: A Wikipedia page

A short video to learn how LibKey works.

Unpaywall

is a similar tool to help you skip the paywall and get permissible full-text content.

Install Unpaywall extension to your browser (support Chrome, Firefox)

Try searching for an article on Google Scholar, a database, or a journal's page. When you see the Green tab beside an article, click on it to read full-text.

Link your Google Scholar with the Library

helps you quickly get the full-text article especially when you are off campus.

This can be done by activating the "Library Links" in your Google Scholar so that your search results would include links to help you route through the Library subscriptions.

Go to Google Scholar, then click "Settings"
In the "Library Links" section, key in "Hong Kong University of Science and Technology"
Check the "The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology - Find@HKUST"
Click "Save" at the bottom

After the preference is set, you will see "Find@HKUST Library" on your result list. Clicking on this link will prompt you to log in with your ITSC account after which you can access the subscribed content.