[Private] SBM Research Postgraduates (RPG) Guide: Non Journal Sources

What kind of non-journal resources do business faculty use for research?

A worldwide survey was conducted in 2011/12 by ProQuest, asking business faculty/researchers to identify the kinds of non-journal sources they used and valued most in their business research. Not surprisingly, print books are the most frequently used resources, others included:

• conference proceedings (92%)
• working papers (88%)
• pre-publication papers (88%)
• raw data (financial, demographics, etc) (85%)
• abstracts (84%)
• dissertations and theses (81%)
• newspapers (79%)

The following guide provides you some non-journal resources for literature searches. If you need any further assistance, please contact our reference librarians (lbref@ust.hk)

Conference is a major source of cutting edge research, and the papers presented in the conference are usually published in a volume called a conference proceeding. Conference proceedings are sometimes hard to find, if you have any difficulty finding a conference proceeding, please contact our librarian (lbref@ust.hk) for help.

Technical reports and working papers are defined here as documents that formally present the results of scientific, technical, management, or social science activities of more than temporary interest, usually produced and initially distributed in small numbers.

Listed below are selected online resources that provide working papers in the areas of management and economics.

IDEAS - RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)

IDEAS - Over 650,000 RePEc records can be browsed or searched, and over 550,000 full-text documents including working papers, articles, chapters, books, software components can be downloaded from IDEAS.
 

RePEc - A collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in over 64 countries to enhance the free dissemination of research in economics. It can be accessed via different Web sites such as IDEAS, and Economics Papers.
 

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

The SSRN database consists of 2 subsets: an Abstract Database covering over 214,200 abstracts of scholarly working papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing more than 174,500 downloadable full-text articles. Topics include accounting, economics, financial management and lots more.
 

Asian Development Bank Institute

Research Papers

Discussion Papers
 

Bank of England

Working Papers
 

Bank of International Settlement (BIS)

Working Papers
 

Bank of Japan

Working Paper Series
 

Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR)

Research Reports (About CEPR)
 

European Central Bank (ECB)

Research and Publications
 

The Federal Reserve Board

Working Papers
Includes 3 collections: Finance & Economics Discussion Series, International Finance Discussion Papers, and Occasional Staff Studies.
 

Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA)

Research Collections
Provides Working Papers, China Economic Issues and Research Notes published by HKMA.
 

Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission

Research Papers (2002-)
 

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

IMF Publications includes IMF Country Reports, Working Papers, World Economic and Financial Surveys and lots more.
 

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Working Paper Series
 

OECD

Working Papers
 

The People's Bank of China 中國人民銀行

金融研究 [Chinese]
 

World Bank

Research & Publications
Documents include World Development Reports, Policy Research Reports, and Policy Research Working Papers.
 

Library Resources

The Library's printed collection of HKUST master's theses and doctoral dissertations is shelved on 1/F. They are also located at the HKUST Electronic Theses database

Learn more about finding theses and dissertation

Internet Resources

Below is a list of Websites where you can find theses and dissertations. 

 

全國博碩士論文資訊網 = Electronic Theses and Dissertations System

Provides access to all available abstracts of academic dissertations and theses approved by the Ministry of Education of Taiwan.

Australasian Digital Thesis Program

Provides access to thesis information from over 30 universities in Australia. Users can limit their search to digital theses only and access the full-text.

CNKI搜索

A search engine for searching across nine Chinese databases from 中國知網 ,which indexes about 8,000 journals and magazines, theses and dissertations from 300 universities, conference papers, and articles from around 1,000 newspapers covering all subjects. Users can view citations and abstracts but full text is for subscribers only. Use of IE is recommended.

Digital Library and Archives: Electronic Theses and Dissertations

Search 11,000 theses and dissertations that have been approved by the VirginiaTech Graduate School since 1995. Some theses have restricted access to VirginiaTech members only.

DSpace at MIT

A collection of selected MIT master's and doctoral theses available online in full text. The range of years represented in the collection is mid 1800's to present.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

Links to universities, organizations, and companies that provide electronic theses and dissertations on the Internet. Some dissertations can be viewed online, others with detailed bibliographic information.

You can search for e-books using PowerSearch or by browsing the e-book collections where you can get access to tens of thousands of books online.

At the start of a new semester, librarians offer a 30 min workshop called "E-books etc. for your syllabus or reading list"