LibGuides: Applied Linguistics, TESOL, TEFOL, ESL, CFL, Chinese teaching, &amp; English Teaching: Help You Cite Tools

Help You Cite Tools

You can use citation tools or functions from some Web and Library resources to make references:

Bibliographic Tools

RefWorks (Library database)
Use it to build a personal citation databases and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles: APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. HKUST users can also create in-text references and footnotes within MS Word. First-time users are required to sign up for an individual account. A Guide to RefWorks is available.
Zotero (Web Resource)
It is a free and easy-to-use web browser extension which helps you to collect, organize and create references and bibliographies.
ZoteroBib (Zbib)
A very simple version of Zotero. Good to use if you have less than 15 references (citations)

Copy a Citation

1. Select "Citation" from the "Send to" options

2. Three citation styles are available

3. Copy the citation by pressing "Ctrl" and "C" buttons

4. Paste the citation on the document by pressing "Ctrl" and "V" buttons

EBSCOhost (Library Database)

Step 1: Search a topic or item(s) in EBSCOhost Research Databases. On the record page of a selected item, click Cite.

Step 2: Choose APA.

ProQuest (Library Database)

Step 1: Search a topic or item(s) in ProQuest. On the Abstract or Full text page of a selected item, click Cite.

Step 2: Choose APA.

Scopus (Library Database)

Step 1: Search a topic or item(s) in Scopus. On the record page of a selected item, click More ... on the toolbar and further choose Create bibliography from the drop-down menu.

Step 2: Choose APA.