Skip to Main Content

Tools to Speed up Full-text Access: Tools

A guide to introduce tools for faciliate full-text access of library e-resources

Tools to speed up full-text access

LibKey

provides instant links to full-text content for articles subscribed by the library or open access alternatives, no matter when you are on- or off-campus.

  1. Add LibKey extension to your browser (support Chrome, Firefox, Edge, etc.) 

Choose Browser & Install

  1. Select "Hong Kong University of Science and Technology" - it's DONE!

Try searching for an article on Google Scholar, a database, or a journal's page. Click the Download button to get the PDF or link to another available version.

 

Example 1: A journal article's page

 

Example 2: A Wikipedia page

A short video to learn how LibKey works.

Unpaywall

is a similar tool to help you skip the paywall and get permissible full-text content. 

Install Unpaywall extension to your browser  (support Chrome, Firefox) 

Try searching for an article on Google Scholar, a database, or a journal's page. When you see the Green tab beside an article, click on it to read full-text.

Link your Google Scholar with the Library

helps you quickly get the full-text article especially when you are off campus. 

This can be done by activating the "Library Links" in your Google Scholar so that your search results would include links to help you route through the Library subscriptions.

  1. Go to Google Scholar, then click "Settings"
  2. In the "Library Links" section, key in "Hong Kong University of Science and Technology"
  3. Check the "The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology - Find@HKUST"
  4. Click "Save" at the bottom

After the preference is set, you will see "Find@HKUST Library" on your result list. Clicking on this link will prompt you to log in with your ITSC account after which you can access the subscribed content.

Single Sign-On (SSO) for Off-Campus Access

Starting 17 Jan 2023, you can access Library e-resources off-campus through HKUST SSO service. 

Select the first option & login with your ITSC account when you come across this screen. You also need to use Duo 2-factor authentication (2FA).

Such access is provided via the Library EZProxy server – VPN is not needed. 

SSO login screen

Ask a Librarian

Need help with finding information or doing your research? Ask a Librarian!

WhatsApp 9701-1055
Email lbref@ust.hk
Schedule a Research Coaching session ​


Icons source: Flaticon

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.