Abstracts of Journal Articles, Conference Papers, and Technical Reports (Linked to the full-text of electronic resources subscribed to by the Library)
Web of Science (1991-) provides abstracts of articles in over 6,700 journals in science and engineering. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. Search Guide.
SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. Search Guide
Scopus (1966-) provides abstracts of articles in 16,000 academic journals and 750 conference proceedings, Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Search Guide.
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. It consists of three linked databases, PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay, within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology of the USA, this database provides data of thermochemistry (5,000 compounds), enthalpy of reaction (3,000 reactions), infrared spectra (5,000 compounds), mass spectra (8,000 compounds), ion energetics (14,000 compounds), etc. Data can be searched by name, chemical formula, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number, molecular weight, ionization energy, or proton affinity.
Other useful databases such as JoVE Science Education Databases, RSC Ebooks, etc.
Abstracts/Full Text of Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses
HKUST Electronic Theses provides abstracts and full-text of HKUST doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global: the sciences and engineering collection
This database includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from thousands of universities around the world since 1861. Where available, it also provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses published since 1637. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards. Full-text download in PDF format is restricted to most of the dissertations published since 1997 and HKUST PhD dissertations.
Full Text of Patents
中华人民共和国国家知识产权局专利数据库 provides abstracts and full-text of Chinese patents.
Espacenet is maintained by the European Patent Office. It provides abstracts and full-text of patents worldwide.
Dictionaries (Compounds) and Encyclopedias
Combined Chemical Dictionary covers over 500,000 compounds, including inorganic, organic and organometallic compounds as well as analytical reagents, natural products, and drugs etc. Information provided for each compound includes its systematic and common names; structure diagrams; chemical, physical and biological properties; and literature references. The database supports searching by chemical structure.
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry Provides step-by-step laboratory procedures for the synthesis, modification, purification, analysis, and utilization of nucleic acids. It includes everything from the basic fundamentals of lab work to the most cutting-edge methods. All protocols have been contributed by leading investigators in the field.
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology v. 1. Adhesion -- Carbon-derived -- v. 2. Carboxylated -- Fullerenes -- v. 3. Gecko -- Magnetophoresis -- v. 4. Majority logic -- Nanofabrication -- v. 5. Nanofibers -- Polyion -- v. 6. Polymer -- Silica-derived -- v. 7. Silicate -- Zeolites.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science & Technology
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology "Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."--About page
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry A reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Fully international in scope and coverage and published in the English language. It contains nearly 1000 major articles. With more than 16 million words, nearly 10,000 tables, 30,000 figures, and innumerable literature sources and cross-references, Also includes full text index, author index, CAS registry number index, and keyword index.
Physical and Chemical Data Sources
Index to Physical, Chemical, and Other Property Data is maintained by Arizona State University's Noble Science and Engineering Library. This site lists properties alphabetically and cites sources of the data. Most sources listed are reference books in the collection of the Noble Library, a few are chemical compound databases on the Web.
Knovel Offers full-text access to over 3,000 titles in 17 handbook collections across the engineering and science subjects. These include: Adhesives, Coating, Sealants & Inks, Aerospace & Radar Technology, Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering & Construction Materials, Earth Sciences, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, Environment & Environmental Engineering, Food Science, General Engineering and Engineering Management, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Metals & Metallurgy, Oil & Gas Engineering, Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries, Plastics & Rubber,and Safety & Industrial Hygiene. The database supports browsing by book title as well as full-text searching.
Materials Safety Data Banks
Sigma-Aldrich Provides access to all the Sigma-Aldrich Material Safety Data Sheets. Users can search by product name, molecular formula, CAS number and many other fields in Advanced Search.
MSDS search contains about 120,000 Material Safety Data Sheets from over 600 North American chemical manufacturers and suppliers. CHEMINFO contains profiles for over 1,300 important workplace chemicals. Each sheet or profile, representing a chemical, provides a detailed evaluation of health, fire and reactivity hazards, as well as recommendations on handling and storage, disposal procedures, accidental release, and first aid
CCOHS Academic Support Program Consists of the following material safety databases maintained by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety: MSDS plus CHEMINFO, OSH References and RTECS.
