Skip to Main Content

MGCS 5025 - China and Africa: Find Books & Articles

PowerSearch for Books & Articles

PowerSearch finds books and articles.  Default, it searches both. For books only or or articles only, un-tick the box you don't want

 

   

 

Off campus?  Use the Tools to Sped up Full-text Access Guide to make accessing online articles and other material easier.

Known or Unknown Item?

There are two classic ways to search for articles, book chapters,etc.

1. Known Item search

  • You have the title of the article, or the name of the author. For example: Khan, Azizur Rahman, et al. (1993). Sources of income inequality in post-reform China. China Economic Review, vol. 4 no. 1, pp. 19-35.
  • You want this specific item.

Search the Library Catalog for the journal title

  • See if the Library has the periodical that the article appears in.
  • It may be in paper or microform
  • Record the call number and location for the periodical.

2. Unknown Item search

  • You have an idea of what sort of thing you  would like to find - but no specific title or author in mind.

Citation Chaining in Databases

Web of Science

Click on the no. of citations or references to explore related articles.

Sample record on Web of Science: Aerodynamic analysis of SARS-CoV-2 in two Wuhan hospitals (citation information accurate as of 11 Aug 2022)

"15" Citations

Find articles cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"1,020" Cited References

Find articles that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

 

 

Read the most relevant articles first

The article you have in hand may have hundreds of citations or references, but not all of them are equally important to your research. Those that are appearing in the Discussion part may be more interesting than those appearing in the Introduction part.

These two unique features on Web of Science help you identify these articles.
 

Select citing articles by classification


Citing items by classification feature helps you identify articles by showing if they "support", "differ", or "discuss" the findings in the article in hand. 

Learn more in this post.

Select references in context


Enriched Cited References feature helps you identify articles by showing their location (e.g. Introduction, Discussion) in the article in hand. 

Learn more in this post.

Try these features on this sample article 

Scopus

Navigate to the Cited by or References sections to explore related articles.

Sample record on Web of Science: Aerodynamic analysis of SARS-CoV-2 in two Wuhan hospitals (citation information accurate as of 11 Aug 2022)

 

"References (15)"

Find articles cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"1013" Citations in Scopus

Find articles that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

 

 

IEEE Xplore 

A database to find journals and conference articles, and patents in electrical and electrical engineering fields.

Click on the no. of citations or navigate to the References and Citations sections to explore related articles.

Sample record on IEEE Xplore: A Novel Single-Inductor Dual-Input Dual-Output DC-DC Converter With PWM Control for Solar Energy Harvesting System  (citation information accurate as of 20 Jul 2022)

"References"

Find articles cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"58" Paper Citations

Find articles that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

 

"2" Patent Citations

Find patents that are citing this article

SciFinder-n

A database to find literature in chemistry-related fields.

Navigate to the Citing or Cited Documents sections to explore related articles.

Sample record on SciFinder-n: Single-atom catalyst for high-performance methanol oxidation  (citation information accurate as of 21 Jul 2022)

"Cited Documents"

Find articles cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"Citing (17)"

Find articles that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

 

Citation Map

Visualize the relations of citing and cited articles. Learn more here.

(Unique feature in SciFinder-n)

PubMed

Largest database for biomedical literature.

Navigate to the Cited by and References sections to explore related articles.

Sample record on PubMed: Aerodynamic analysis of SARS-CoV-2 in two Wuhan hospitals (citation information accuracy as of 21 Jul 2022)

"References"

Find documents cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"Cited by"

Find documents that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

Journal Databases

Useful HSS Article Databases

Complete list of HSS databases at HKUST

What if an article is not available in the Library?.

  • Place a request for  Inter-libarry loan, using ILLiad

Data Sources - HKUST Library Subscribed or cataloged & + Open Data

China

Provincial statistics from are classed under HA4637  (e- versions available from 1989-)

Major City Statistics of China are classed under HA4638 (e- versions available from 1989-)

Or, you can also do a 统计年鉴

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department

ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

  • Maintained at the University of Michigan, HKUST is a member institution.
  • Many files of "raw" social science data.
  • Choose "Find & Analyze Data"
  • Sign-up to use it, so you can access off campus as well as on-campus
  • Resources for students - including why & how to cite data

After you sign-in to ICPSR, you can search and download data for later manipulation.

Newspaper Databaes

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.