Skip to Main Content

MILE 5000 - Language Learning: Search Tools & Sources

Specialist Encyclopedias, Dictionaries or Handbooks

  • Articles or short chapters with authoritative overviews & reviews of special topics
  • Good place to browse to get ideas for research questions Library subscribed & many online
  • Written by scholars and experts
  • Often provide useful references at end of articles or chapters

Encyclopedias and Handbooks:

Brooks, P., & Kempe, Vera. (2014). Encyclopedia of Language Development. Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Brown, E., & Anderson, Anne. (2006). Encyclopedia of language & linguistics (2nd ed.). Oxford : Boston: Elsevier. (Reference P29 .E48 2006 v. 1-14)

Chapelle, C. (2012). The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics. Wiley Online Library.

Doughty, C., & Long, Michael H. (2005). The Handbook of Second Language Acquisition. Blackwell Online Reference.

Gass, S., & Mackey,  Alison. (2012). The Routledge handbook of second language acquisition. London: Routledge.(P118.2 R68 2012) [ paper copy]

Herschenson, J. & Young-Scholten, S.(2013). The Cambridge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition. Cambridge University Press.

Ke, C. (2018). The Routledge handbook of Chinese second language acquisition. Routledge.

Li, S., Hiver, P., & Papi, M. (Eds.). (2022). The Routledge handbook of second language acquisition and individual differences. Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group.

Language Dictionaries -with word origins

OED -The Oxford English Dictionary. (E-Copy. Paper copy in Reference PE1625 .O87 1989)

辭源. (1991).商務書館香港有限公司. (Reference PL1420 .C6 1991)

漢語大詞典&康熙字典.(2008). 中国学术期刊电子杂志社

漢語大字典(1986-1990). 漢語大字典編輯委員會 (Reference PL1420 .H3494 1986)

象形字典 - vividict.com (2010)

 

 

 

PowerSearch for Books

For books only, un-tick Articles+. The Library Catalog searches books.

 

Example

1. Brown S. & Larson-­Hall, J. (2012). Second Language Acquisition Myths: Applying Second Language Research to Classroom Teaching. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press.

Search the authors (Brown and Larson-Hall) and title (second language)

  • Use the "details" section to find more by authors or subjects
  • search for keywords like "applied" "second language" "classroom" "teaching"

Journal Article Databases

Some Useful Article Databases

What if an article is not available in the Library?.

 

PowerSearch for Articles

For articles only, un-tick the Library Catalog box. Articles+ searches articles.

 

 

Kormos, J., & Trebits, A. (2012). The role of task complexity, modality, and aptitude in narrative task performance. Language Learning, 62(2), 439–472.

  • Search authors: Kormos
  • Search title: task complexity

Liu, M. & Jackson, J. (2011). Reticence and anxiety in oral English lessons: A case study in China. In Jin, L. & Cortazzi, M. (eds.), Researching Chinese learners: Skills, perceptions, and intercultural adaptation, pp. 119-137. Basingstoke, U.K.: Palgrave MacMillan. 

  • Search  an editor (in author field): Jin
  • Search book title: Researching Chinese learners

Workshop Search Examples

 

•Contemori, C., Mossman, S., & Ramos, A. (2021). Acquiring L2 pronoun interpretation biases. Studies in Second Language Acquisition, 1-18., doi:10.1017/S0272263121000152.
•Van Patten, B., Keating, G. D., & Wulff, S. (2020). Theories in second language acquisition: An introduction. Routledge.

•Liu, M. & Jackson, J. (2011). Reticence and anxiety in oral English lessons: A case study in China. In Jin, L. & Cortazzi, M. (eds.), Researching Chinese learners: Skills, perceptions, and intercultural adaptation, pp. 119-137. Basingstoke, U.K.: Palgrave MacMillan. 
•Trenkic, A., Mirkovic, J., & Altmann, G. T. M. (2014). Real-time grammar processing by native and non-native speakers: Constructions unique to the second language. Bilingualism: Language and Cognition, 17, 237-257. doi:10.1017/S1366728913000321

•Yilmaz, Y. (2016). The role of exposure condition in the effectiveness of explicit correction. Studies in Second Language Acquisition, 38, 65- 96. doi:10.1017/S0272263115000212
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.