LibGuides: LANG 1403 Online Workshop &amp; Guide: 7. Select Good Tools (~6 min)

Google vs Library Databases (1 min)

Watch this short video and then read below about choosing the right search tools to find good articles.

What's are some of of the main reasons to use the Library's tools like PowerSearch & other databases?

Money! Lots of good quality things you find via Google cost money. HKUST Library subscribes to lots of what you may want from google, and gets you through the pay-wall.
Reliability! The Library works hard to pay for reliable material. That means there is less nonsense and out-dated stuff to sort through.
Searching, filtering, & saving capabilities! Library subscribed databases have a lot of useful tools to help you refine your search, filter results, and then save, download, or email them to yourself.

Select Appropriate Search Tools

PowerSearch is the Library's one-stop search tool:

Check Articles+ box to look for e-book chapters, journal articles, news articles, magazine articles, etc.
Check Library Catalog box to look for books, e-books, CDs, DVDs (movies), newspaper (Daily Telegraph, SCMP, New York Times), magazines (Economist, Time), journals, etc.

PowerSearch covers about 70% of e-articles & books.

It's always a good first place to start your university research searching

Databases are structured system for storing and retrieving records. Library subscribes to different databases such as:

Content (Resource Types)	Database
Academic articles in different subjects	IEEE Xplore Scopus Web of Science
Company & Industry news/profiles	EBSCOhost Research Databases ProQuest
E-Books (guide)	Knovel (engineering handbooks) ProQuest E-book Central
News	Factiva Nexis Uni
Statistics	EIU viewpoint OECD iLibrary Passport Statista

If you know the name of the you want to search, go directly to the Alphabetical List.

If you're not sure of the name, or want explore different subject categories or material types, go to the links below.

Business and Management
Ebooks
Engineering
Humanities and Social Sciences
News
Reference Tools (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks)
Science
Streaming Audios and Videos

The "Details" link takes you to the Library catalog record, e.g., ACM digital library.

Read the description to see content coverage. Some databases also have online guides to show tips on effective searching.

Good Articles - Which Databases?

Different databases cover different publications (or same title but different publication years), same search (keywords) will yield different results.

Look at the table below to see some examples and links, which databases have which publications to help you get good articles for your 1403 assignment. This information will also be useful later in your career at HKUST and in life.

English Lang Newspapers	Databases
South China Morning Post	Factiva Nexis Uni ProQuest Historical Newspapers South China Morning Post
The New York Times	Factiva Nexis Uni ProQuest Historical Newspapers
The Wall Street Journal Asia	Factiva
Daily Telegraph The Financial Times The Guardian Wall Street Journal Washington Post	Factiva ProQuest

English Lang Magazines	Database
Bloomberg BusinessWeek Scientific American Time U.S. News & World Report	EBSCOhost Research Databases
The Economist	The Economist
Forbes	EBSCOhost Research Databases Factiva Nexis Uni
*Harvard Business Review*	EBSCOhost Research Databases Harvard Business Review
*New Scientist*	EBSCOhost Research Databases New Scientist Nexis Uni