Writing & Citing - MGCS 5001 - Understanding China, 1700-2000: A Data-Analytic Approach - LibGuides at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Library

Citing

Remember to record citation information for each article you read for your research

You can use PowerSearch's citation function in the "send it" area for quick and easy citation copying & pasting.

These guides & info will help you learn how to cite.

PowerSearch and many databases also provide options to quickly generate citations from their platforms.

Step 1: Go to HKUST PowerSearch, do a search and you are now at the result page.

Step 2: Click the citation icon ()

Step 3: Choose APA (7th edition) from the left-hand side menu, and copy the citation

Step 1: Search a topic or item(s) in EBSCOhost Research Databases. On the record page of a selected item, click Cite.

Step 2: Choose APA 7th.

Step 1: Search a topic or item(s) in ProQuest. On the Abstract or Full text page of a selected item, click Cite.

Step 2: Choose APA 7th.

Writing Guides

Tools to help you manage your readings and generate citations / reference list.

RefWorks (Library subscribed)
a web-based tool that allows users to build personal citation databases and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles, e.g. APA, ACS, MLA, Chicago. References can be imported from Google Scholar or article databases. First-time users are required to sign up for an individual account. Check out Guide on RefWorks.
Mendeley (Free)
free tool that enables users to manage, read, annotate, and cite references with different citation styles.
Zotero (Free)
free and easy-to-use browser extension that helps you collect, organize and create references and bibliographies.
ZoteroBib (Free web tool)
a super-simple version of Zotero that helps you quickly create a bibliography in any citation style.