MGMT 2110 - Organizational Behavior (Fall 2024): PowerSearch & Databases

PowerSearch

• HKUST's main all-purpose search tool, gives you access to lots of paid content
• Including Books, Book chapters, News articles, Magazine articles, Scholarly articles, etc.
• Allows you to search the Library Catalog AND multiple databases at the same time

APA PsycInfo Databases -- a database within EBSCOhost Research Databases that provide access to the full text of a large collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. especially in the discipline related to psychology and the study of behavior.

To access, go to Library Home > Databases > A > APA PsycInfo

Key search steps:

• Enter keywords in "Advanced Search"
• Uncheck "Linked Full Text" if you want more results
• Browse search results, choose useful articles, click PDF Full Text / HTML Full Text / the "Find@HKUST" button
• Refine your results (search fields, publication date, source types, etc.) if necessary
• Check the cited references in a relevant article; these references can be useful to your paper
• Save references in APA format

EBSCOhost Research Databases -- a platform consisting of multiple databases which provide access to the full text of a large collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. in various disciplines.

To access, go to Library Home > Databases > E > EBSCOhost Research Databases

Key search steps:

• Check "Select all" databases
• Enter keywords in "Advanced Search"
• Uncheck "Linked Full Text" if you want more results
• Browse search results, choose useful articles, click PDF Full Text / HTML Full Text / the "Find@HKUST" button
• Refine your results (search fields, publication date, source types, etc.) if necessary
• Check the cited references in a relevant article; these references can be useful to your paper
• Save references in APA format

ProQuest-- A platform consisting of multiple databases which provide access to the full text of a large collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. in various disciplines.

To access, go to Library Home > Databases > P > ProQuest

Key search steps:

• Use "Advanced Search"
• Source type: Scholarly journals
• Refine your results (search fields, date range, etc.)
• Check the cited references in a relevant article; these references can be useful to your paper
• Save references in APA format

To learn how to navigate ProQuest, visit the database guide.

Factiva -- A huge news article and business information database, which covers over 32,000 sources from 200 countries in 28 languages.

To access, go to Library Home > Databases > F > Factiva

Examples of sources:

• Newspapers: South China Morning Post, The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, The Guardian, Straits Times, etc.
• Magazines, Journals & Tade Publications: Forbes, Newsweek, etc.
• Newswires: Reuters, Dow Jones, The Associated Press, etc.
• TV or Radio Podcasts: BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, etc.

To learn how to navigate Factiva, visit the database guide.