Company Profiles - MGMT 4230 - International Management (Fall 2022) - LibGuides at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Library

Recommended Databases

Company History

Gale eBooks
Provides a collection of encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, and other reference sources in various disciplines. For company information, first choose "Cross Search", then use "Gale Power Search" to search for the desired company.
International Directory of Company Histories
A multi-volume directory which covers over 8,900 public and private leading companies worldwide. Entries cover company background, principal subsidiaries, divisions, and competitors, etc.
more...less...
- Print volumes (v.1-73): Library G/F; Call Number: HD2721 .I63.
- Electronic volumes (v.74 onwards): Click the "Access via Gale Ebooks" links in the library record.

Company Rankings

Fortune Global 500
Rankings of the world’s largest corporations, including company profiles and key financials.
Forbes : The World's Biggest Public Companies
Provides an annual snapshot of the world’s biggest companies. The ranking is based on a mix of four metrics: sales, profits, assets and market value.
Business Rankings Annual
Provides “top ten” rankings of US companies, products, services, and business-related activities compiled from a variety of published sources.

Business Source Premier (Company Profiles)

Business Source Premier
Provides the full text/images of over 8,000 business publications, including 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. Company profiles (world's largest 10,000 companies) are also available.

1. In Business Source Premier, choose Company Profiles.

2. Browse or search by company name. Some Company Profiles include SWOT Analysis.

LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations (Company Profiles & Corporate Hierarchies)

LexisNexis® Corporate Affiliations(TM) (Access via Nexis Uni)
Provides company profiles and corporate structure information.

1. In the database, enter the company name to search.

2. From the Results list, choose the company to open its profile, further click CORPORATE HIERARCHY.

Passport (Company Profiles & Other Analysis)

Passport
A global market research database providing statistics and analysis on industries, countries, consumers and companies. Featuring 115 million internationally comparable statistics and 25,000 market research reports, Passport provides an understanding of the global business and economic environment in 210 countries.

1. In Passport, start a search using the Companies tab on the top menu bar or simply by entering the company name, e.g. Apple Inc, in the search box, then click GO.

2. On the results page, the STATISTICS tab shows choices for company shares and brand shares. If necessary, refine your search using the options available on the left side of the screen.

For company profiles, go to ANALYSIS.