Country Analysis - MGMT 4230 - International Management (Fall 2022) - LibGuides at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Library

Country Basics

CIA – The World Factbook
Provides information on history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for over 255 locations across the globe. Scroll down the page to "Explore Countries" and choose a country.
A Guide to Countries of the World
Off-campus access requires your ITSC login and password.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Off-campus access requires your ITSC login and password.

Country Statistics

DATA.GOV.HK
Provides data and facts about Hong Kong.
CDMNext (previously called CEIC Databases)
Provides access to millions macro-economic time series and statistics from over 190 countries. Contains Global Database, China Premium Database, Indonesia Premium Database, Daily Database, and World Trend Plus.
EIU.com - Access China
Go to EIU.com, choose "Access China" or "Access China via Data tool" to access data, analysis and forecasts for all 31 provinces and 292 of China’s largest cities. The service provides a comprehensive understanding of China today and in the future. ( (Note: The Library doesn't have a full subscription to Access China.)
The World Bank Open Data
Provides handy country statistics; browse data “By Country” > Select a country > More time series indicators are available in “DATABANK”.
IMF Data
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
NationMaster.com
Provides a variety of statistics, such as economy, environment, education, industry, lifestyle, religion, etc.
Eurostat
Provides statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

For more statistical sources, visit this library guide: Statistical Information

Country Competitiveness

IMD World Competitiveness Online
Provides the Overall Scoreboard on the competitiveness of nations. The rankings measure how well countries manage their economic and human resources to increase their prosperity.
Both electronic and printed editions are available.
Global Competitiveness Index
It's provided by World Economic Forum where you can view interactive report with analysis.
2022 Index of Economic Freedom
It's provided by The Heritage Foundation and Wall Street Journal where you can find country’s economic freedom scores, country comparisons, regional ranking, country’s quick facts and background.
Corruption Perceptions Index
An index provided by Transparency International to score countries on how corrupt their public sectors are seen to be.

Country Reports

EIU Viewpoint

EIU Viewpoint combines political insights, policy analysis and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data. The library subscription covers 18 Asian countries in detail as well as global overview and reports on commodity and industry forecasts.

Access info: Go to EIU Viewpoint, then use the top navigation bar to find what you need.

Business Source Premier

The Country Reports collection in Business Source Premier covers various reports, such as:

Country Profiles by MarketLine
- In-depth PESTLE Analysis (Political . Economic . Social . Technological . Legal . Environmental).
Country Review by CountryWatch
- Details on geographical and political conditions, economic overview, environmental matters, etc.
Country Monitor (on selected countries) by IHS Global Inc.
- Includes economic outlook, political system and players, external relations and trade, etc.
Business Forecast Reports (on selected countries) by Business Monitor International
- Detailed forecast covering political outlook, economic outlook, business environment, and 10-year forecast.

Access info: In Business Source Premier, enter the country, and under Publication Type, choose Country Report, then click Search for results.

Statista

Country reports are available for over 150 countries.

Access info: Go to Statista, enter the country to search or choose Country Reports from the navigation bar to continue.

MGMT 4230 - International Management (Fall 2022): Country Analysis

Country Basics

Country Statistics

Country Competitiveness

Country Reports