Information & Research Literacy - A self-guided Program

Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL)

An electronic database of the consolidated statute laws of Hong Kong established and updated by the Department of Justice (DOJ).

Hong Kong Legal Information Institute

Provides access to Hong Kong legislation, cases, reports, and more.

HKSAR Government Gazette Legal Supplements

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region gazette  (E-Resources)

It is published weekly in Chinese and English when the Legislative Council is in session. It consists of a main volume and seven supplementary volumes. The following supplements are important legal sources:

• Legal Supplement no. 1 (LS no. 1)  -  full text of new ordinances & any amendments to existing legislation passed during the week
• Legal Supplement no. 2 (LS no. 2)-   full text of new subsidiary legislation (e.g., regulations, rules or notices) & any amendments to existing subsidiary legislation passed during the week.
• Legal Supplement no. 3 (LS no. 3) -  contains draft laws, i.e., bills (blue paper)

Hong Kong English-Chinese Legal Dictionary
(K50 .H65 2005)

英漢漢英香港法律詞匯 = English-Chinese Chinese-English a glossary of law for Hong Kong
(K52.C5 Y36 1998)

英汉法律词典 = English-Chinese dictionary of law
(K52.C5 Y538 2008)

英漢法律詞彙 = The English-Chinese glossary of legal terms
(K52.C5 Y54 2004)

Annotated ordinances of Hong Kong: with relevant subsidiary legislation
(KNQ 9302.3)
Provides comprehensive annotations to over 150 major ordinances, including extensive cross references to relevant legislation and case law.

Halsbury's laws of Hong Kong
(KNQ9302.3 .H352)
A multi-volume legal encyclopaedia for Hong Kong. Each volume contains statements of laws on specialized topics such as contract, tort, human rights and environment, supported by references to Hong Kong legislation and case law.

Halsbury's laws of Hong Kong. Current service
(KNQ9302.3 .H353)
An updating service for the bound volumes: Halsbury's laws of Hong Kong.

Tort Law in Hong Kong / by Rick Glofcheski (2nd ed.)
(KNQ9320.4 .G58 2007)

Hong Kong legal dictionary
(KNR2.6 .H66 2004)

Shorter Oxford Dictionary
(PE1625 .N49 1993 v.1-2)
The dictionary most commonly used in the Hong Kong courts

The Authorised Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal reports. (Per KNR2.3.A2 H63)

The Authorised Hong Kong law reports & digest. (Per KNR2.23.A3 H652)

The complete online version is available via Westlaw Asia --> Hong Kong Case Law.

Hong Kong cases. (Per  KNR2.23.A25 1946/72 - 2009:v.6)

Westlaw Asia  | Guide to  Boolean Terms & Connectors

• Extensive legal database which provides full-text legislation, case law and law reviews covering the jurisdictions of Hong Kong, the United Kingdom, Australia & other jurisdictions
• Treaties and international agreements are also included.
• Content highlights
  • Hong Kong Law Reports and Digest (1905-)
  • Hong Kong Latest Judgment Alert Service (1999-)
  • UK statutes (1267-) and UK cases (1865-)
  • Legal Journals Index which provides citations and abstracts of over 800 law journals published in the UK and Europe (1986-).



Finding HK Content

The default welcome page allows a combined search on all subscribed contents (including Hong Kong).

Things to note:

• Check the desired boxes to limit your search.
• Enclose all phrases within a pair of double quotation marks.  By default, a space between the keywords denotes the logical connector AND.
• Check out "Search Tips" and "List of Connectors" for how best to build your search statements.
• Click "Natural Language" to search like Google.  The best 100 results will be retrieved.

Nexis Uni

• Law Reviews (journals), cases, and other legal information, in addition to news information
• 

Nexis Uni  -  Using Terms and Connectors

北大法寶 = Pkulaw.com
Provides access to 12 databases:

1. English Translations
2. Laws and Regulations
3. Judicial Cases
4. Law Journals
5. Legal Subjects
6. Law Firm Practice
7. Procuratorial Instruments
8. IP Information
9. Criminal Practice
10. Administrative Penalty
11. Labor Service
12. Business Environment

Key resources covered by Westlaw Classic include:

• Canada (cases, legislation, journals, treatises, court documents, etc.)
• European Union (cases, legislation, treatises, law reviews, etc.)
• Intellectual Property (Derwent World Patents Index, etc.)
• United States (US Statutes, US federal/state codes and cases, etc.)
• Law Reviews & Journals

Watch video tutorials & user guides on Westlaw Classic

Notice: As Westlaw Next access from Westlaw Asia homepage is currently not working, please use this direct link to access Westlaw Next.

Nexis Uni    |  Nexis Uni Library Guide

• Extensive news & legal database
• Has law cases and statutes of various jurisdictions including Hong Kong, UK, US, Australia, New Zealand and Canada, and US law reviews, including Hong Kong "unreported" cases.

General International Law Web Sites

ASIL (The American Society for International Law)
Based in the USA, this organization has ~4,000 members from ~100 countres, lawyers, judges, government representatives, NGO members, students, etc.

• Topics - includes human rights & international criminal law, law of armed conflict & international security, and more
• ASIL Insights - provides brief reviews of the international law issues raised by recent events in the news

Uphold International Law
This section of the UN's website has links to the legal sub-committee of the General Assembly, the International Court of Justics, and more

Treaties

The United Nations Treaty Collection

• Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (list)