Skip to Main Content

Information & Research Literacy - A self-guided Program

This is currently a work in progress (summer 2025) to provide the HKUST community with self-drected learning on many aspects of information and research literacy

Medicinal Databases at HKUST

HKUST does not have a medical school. However, the Library subscribes to a core set of resources for people interested in learning more about medicine and medical research.

CAS SciFinder discovery platform - Formerly known as SciFinderⁿ, provides access to a variety of reliable resources, including CAS SciFinder, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus. CAS SciFinder offers a vast database of scientific literature and chemical information, facilitating quick access to articles, patents, and chemical properties.

MEDLINE - Provides citations and abstracts to a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. including anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; etc.

PubMed has 30 million+ citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

Springer Protocols / Springer Nature Experiments is a discovery platform for a growing collection of Springer Protocols in biomedical and life science. Major series include Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Neuromethods and others.

Scopus - Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals, 750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade publications from over 4,000 international publishers. Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences.

Web of Science - Provides web access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index,and more. SCIE covers 7,100 international science and engineering journals. SSCI covers 2,100 social science and business journals worldwide.

Video Databases

 

Background Information: Dictionaries, Encyclopedia, etc.

Dictionaries 

外研社英汉医学词典 = English-Chinese medical dictionary (Reference R121 .W32 2002)

An A-Z of medicinal drugs  (E-Resources RS51 .H396 2010eb)
 
Concise medical dictionary (E-Resources R121 .C66 2010eb)
 
Drugs : synonyms and properties (Reference RS51 .D776 2000)
 
Melloni's illustrated medical dictionary (Reference R121 .D76 2002)
 
The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals (Reference RS51 .M4 2006)
 
The Oxford companion to medicine (E-Resources R121 .O884 2005eb)
 
Directories

Hong Kong 
A guide to services of public hospitals (RA990.C63 H6643)





The medical and dental directory of Hong Kong (Reference R713.81.H85 M43)

Encyclopedias
Ancient herbs and modern herbs : a comprehensive reference guide to medicinal herbs, human ailments and possible herbal remedies (Reference RS164 .S395 2001)


The Gale encyclopedia of cancer : a guide to cancer and its treatments (Reference RC254.5 .G353 2005)

The Gale encyclopedia of genetic disorders (Reference RB155.5 .G35 2002)


Encyclopaedia of occupational health and safety (Multiple Locations RC963.A3 E53 1998)

The encyclopedia of phobias, fears, and anxieties (Reference RC535 .D63 2000)



Medical-Pictures.com (E-Resources R121 .H43 2005)



Handbooks and Manuals

西药风险速查 (RM302.5 .X528 2005)

救護手冊 (Reference RC86.8 .J58 2000)

普通零售藥品手冊 = O.T.C. products at a glance (Reference RM671.5.C6 P8)

A-z common symptom answer guide(E-Resources RC69 .A392 2004)

AMA manual of style : a guide for authors and editors(Reference R119 .A533 2007)

An atlas of breast disease (E-Resources RG492 .H35 2003)


Clinical nursing practices(E-Resources RT51 .J38 2002)

Clinician's handbook of prescription drugs (E-Resources RM301.12 .E37 2001)

The Essential guide to prescription drugs (Reference RS51 .E85)


Modell's essential drugs in current use and new drugs (Reference RS79 .D7)


Oxford handbook of clinical medicine (RC55 .L67 2005)

The patient's guide to medical tests (Multiple Locations RC71 .P38 1997)

Physicians' desk reference : PDR(Reference RS75 .P5)

Physicians' desk reference for nonprescription drugs and dietary supplements (Reference RM671.A1 P48)

Statistics 
中国卫生年鉴 (Reference RA305 .C48)

香港居民的健康狀況, 就醫情況, 入住醫院情況, 接受牙醫診治情況 ; 僱主或機構提供醫療福利予僱員及受個人購買的醫療保險保障的情況 ; 居於院舍人士健康狀況及其使用醫護服務的情況 = Health status of Hong Kong residents, doctor consultation, hospitalization, dental consultation et al. (Reference RA407.5.C6 X536 2007)


 World health statistics annual (E-Resources RA407.A1 W67)

Chinese Medicine - Finding Library Materials

 

Search the Library Catalog using the following subject headings for all print and non-print materials:

 

Browse the periodicals collection (all formats) to locate relevant journal titles using below search terms.

 

Traditional Chinese Medicine - Bibliographies, Handbooks, & Manuals

Use the call number to find the books on bookshelf.

  • 中医文献学 (R601 .M32 1990)
  • 中药硏究与文献检索 (RS180.C5 C489 1994)
  • 中葯研究文献摘要 : 1820-1961 (RS180.C5 L58 1963)
  • 中國醫籍考 (Reference R601 .C56347 1983)
  • 中國醫籍通考 (R601 .Z58 1990 v.1-3)
  • 中華古文獻大辭典.医药卷 (Reference R121 .C489 1990)

Use the call number to find the books on bookshelf.
 

LibGuide content by HKUST Library is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0, unless otherwise noted.