Skip to Main Content

LANG 5072 - English Academic Writing on Chinese Culture & LANG 5070 - Advanced Critical Writing for Academic Purposes: Books, Articles, & Data

This guide is to help students to get familiar with search tools for LANG 5072.

PowerSearch

A good first place to start. HKUST Library's "One stop" search  (library + several other databases at once)

   

 

  • For books only, choose Library Catalog   | For articles only, choose Articles+
  • Know the author (like Caroline Pluss)?
    • Use the drop-down menu & search the author's name.
  • Know the title? 
    • Use the drop-down menu for title.

 PowerSearch LibGuide -

Tools to speed up full-text access

LibKey

provides instant links to full-text content for articles subscribed by the library or open access alternatives, no matter when you are on- or off-campus.

  1. Add LibKey extension to your browser (support Chrome, Firefox, Edge, etc.) 

Choose Browser & Install

  1. Select "Hong Kong University of Science and Technology" - it's DONE!

Try searching for an article on Google Scholar, a database, or a journal's page. Click the Download button to get the PDF or link to another available version.

 

Example 1: A journal article's page

 

Example 2: A Wikipedia page

A short video to learn how LibKey works.

Unpaywall

is a similar tool to help you skip the paywall and get permissible full-text content. 

Install Unpaywall extension to your browser  (support Chrome, Firefox) 

Try searching for an article on Google Scholar, a database, or a journal's page. When you see the Green tab beside an article, click on it to read full-text.

Link your Google Scholar with the Library

helps you quickly get the full-text article especially when you are off campus. 

This can be done by activating the "Library Links" in your Google Scholar so that your search results would include links to help you route through the Library subscriptions.

  1. Go to Google Scholar, then click "Settings"
  2. In the "Library Links" section, key in "Hong Kong University of Science and Technology"
  3. Check the "The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology - Find@HKUST"
  4. Click "Save" at the bottom

After the preference is set, you will see "Find@HKUST Library" on your result list. Clicking on this link will prompt you to log in with your ITSC account after which you can access the subscribed content.

Data Sources - HKUST Library Subscribed or cataloged & + Open Data

China

Provincial statistics from are classed under HA4637  (e- versions available from 1989-)

Major City Statistics of China are classed under HA4638 (e- versions available from 1989-)

Or, you can also do a 统计年鉴

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department

ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

  • Maintained at the University of Michigan, HKUST is a member institution.
  • Many files of "raw" social science data.
  • Choose "Find & Analyze Data"
  • Sign-up to use it, so you can access off campus as well as on-campus
  • Resources for students - including why & how to cite data

After you sign-in to ICPSR, you can search and download data for later manipulation.

What is BrowZine?

BrowZine is an app that consolidates scholarly journals from multiple publishers and platforms into an easily browsable format, optimized for iPhones, iPads or Android tablets and phones.

Current and back issues of journals back to 2005 can be browsed by subjects and A - Z title list. Users can add favorite journals on "My Bookshelf" and save articles for future reading.

Browzine Guide - Set-up Browzine

BrowZine Introduction

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.