LANG 5072 - English Academic Writing on Chinese Culture & LANG 5070 - Advanced Critical Writing for Academic Purposes: HSS Info Types

Gives  overviews or in-depth discussion on topics

Academic books provide references for follow-up

Convenient inside tools

• Paper books: table of contents & Index
• E-books - search function & help-you-cite tools

Example of Reference:

Kurlantzick, J. (2007). Charm offensive : How China's soft power is transforming the world. New Haven: Yale University Press.

  Articles or short chapters with authoritative overviews & reviews of special topics

  Good place to browse to get ideas for research questions

 Library subscribed & many online

  Written by scholars and experts

Often provide useful references at end of articles

Examples

• Brill's Encyclopedia of China
• The Encyclopedia of Adolescence
• Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality
• Encyclopedia of Migration
• Encyclopedia of Modern China

• The Global  Encyclopedia of Public Administration, Public Policy, and Governance

• Handbook of the Sociology of Gender

• International encyclopedia of the social sciences (2008 ed.)

• Macmillan encyclopedia of families, marriages, and intimate relationships
• The Oxford handbook of classical Chinese literature (1000 BCE-900 CE)- Book Collection - PL2283 .O94 2017
• The Oxford handbook of modern Chinese literatures - Book Collection PL2302 .O95 2016
• The Palgrave handbook of gender and migration
• Routledge encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology
• The Routledge encyclopedia of traditional Chinese culture

Examples of reference to articles in encyclopedias

• Lee, J.C. (2017). Globalization and Filial Piety. In: Farazmand, A. (eds) Global Encyclopedia of Public Administration, Public Policy, and Governance. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-31816-5_3361-1

• Levesque R.J.R. (2016). Informed Consent and Assent. In: Levesque R. (eds) Encyclopedia of Adolescence. Springer. https://doi-org.lib.ezproxy.hkust.edu.hk/10.1007/978-3-319-32132-5_440-2

• Majka T., Majka L. (2015). Refugee Integration: Issues and Challenges. In: Bean F., Brown S. (eds) Encyclopedia of Migration. Springer, https://doi-org.lib.ezproxy.hkust.edu.hk/10.1007/978-94-007-6179-7_106-1

• Scharping, T. (2009). Migration. In D. Leese (Ed.), Brill's Encyclopedia of China (pp. 641-643). Brill. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1968900280/GVRL?u=hkust&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=b4ec7fad

Cover general interest information for interested non-experts

Short, topical articles - usually 1 to 5 pages

Written and edited by professional journalists

Article title, authors often listed

May quote statistics, figures, or tables from other sources; rarely give info. in footnotes or bibliography

Example of reference

225m reasons for China's leaders to worry: China's middle class (2016, July 9).  The Economist, 420, 8997, 10. Retrieved from https://search.proquest.com/docview/1802548897?accountid=29018

"Raw" data  gives your material to make your own arguments, predictions, etc.

Allows you to make your own charts, etc.

MUST come from reputable sources

Example of Reference

China. National Bureau of Statistics. (2020).  CN: Population: No of Divorces: Guangdong, 1995-2018.  ID:4772901; SR Code: SR92530. [data file]. Retrieved from CDMNext Database, March 9, 2020.

Cover in-depth research in a specialized subject area

 Written by academics, researchers or scholars.

Credentials of the authors usually appear near the names or in the footnote or endnote

Contents peer-reviewed (revised to comments from subject experts before publication)

Arguments, claims and conclusions backed by data and evidence.

 Sources consulted are listed in the end of paper reference/bibliography sections.

Example of Reference

Deterding, D., & Mohamad, N. R. (2016). The Lingua Franca Core and Englishes in East and Southeast Asia. Asiatic: IIUM Journal of English Language & Literature, 10(2), 7–24.  Retrieved from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=obo&AN=120957891

Short articles on current affairs, daily news & social issues.

Written by professional journalists  and edited by editors with the motive of selling stories and advertising space

Library subscribed & many online & on microfilm.

Some old articles can be used as primary sources to see "how things were covered"  or "what people believed happened" at the time of publication. Use them critically.

Advertisements can also be used critically as primary sources  as evidence or sources for analysis. 

Example of Reference

Jones, M. (2012, Jun 26). Two women for Tiangong. UPI Space Daily Retrieved from https://search.proquest.com/docview/1022143041?accountid=29018