Skip to Main Content

LANG 5072 - English Academic Writing on Chinese Culture & LANG 5070 - Advanced Critical Writing for Academic Purposes: Start

This guide is to help students to get familiar with search tools for LANG 5072.

Introduction

This guide is created to be a resource to you as you work on your assignments for LANG 5070 and LANG 5072.  It is especially related to doing an oral critique and annotated bibliography.

Intended Learning Outcomes

After taking these workshops, students will be able to:

  • Find background information to prepare to develop their research question and critique articles.
  • Select useful sources (handbooks, encyclopedias, databases) for their research area to search and research
  • Develop a research question from a statement of general interest to guide them for their research in their annotated bibliography
  • Search for, find, and select items related to their interest area  and research question(s)for their oral critique and annotated bibliographies

"Ticket-out the door" :

  • LANG 5070:  at least one article, specialist encyclopedia entry, handbook chapter, etc. to be used to further understand their research area (emailed to self, downloaded, saved, etc.)
  • LANG 5072:  2 articles for possible critique + a speciallist encyclopedia entry, or a handbook chapter, etc. to be used to further understand their research area (emailed to self, downloaded, saved, etc.)
  • They fill out the form on the shared file at least ONE week before their oral critique presentation.

In order to:

  • Complete their LANG 5070 and 5072 assignments: oral critique and 5 item annotated bibliography (short term)
  • To prepare themselves for doing research in the area of humanities and social science  with a focus on Chinese cultures in the rest of their programs and as scholars of the Chinese studies after they graduate (long term)

After workshop: Feedback - https://library.hkust.edu.hk/feedback

Scholarship

Scholarship as an activity = thinking systematically

  • Systematic questioning
  • Searching
  • Looking  deep and long =  Scrutinizing -   詳細地檢查

Integration (making intellectual connections) between  ideas, theories, & experience = key to good scholarship

  • Applying a method from one area to another
  • Place a situation or phenomenon into larger theoretical framework
    • Drawing elements from different theories into a synthesis
    • Make new insight
  • Re-examine existing knowledge based on new or more recent development

(Hart 1998, p 8-9)

Generating & Communicating Research Information & Knowledge

Research is Conducted by:

Associations | Businesses | Charities | Governments | Individuals (people)  | Institutions (universities, think tanks, etc.) | Pressure groups | Trade Unions  

►    Information is Generated from:

Research  |  Critical evaluations  | Interperative work

►   Information from, on, or about Research is Communicated  via:

Anthologies | Blogs | Books (monographs) | Book chapters | Conference Papers |  Emails | Journals |  Journal articles | Lectures | Letters | Meetings | Newsletters  | Newspapers | Reports | Seminars |  Textbooks  | Theses | Tweets

► Information from, on, or about Research is Organized  in:

Article Databases | Bibliographies | Data Repositories |  Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Library Catalogs

(Hart, 1998, p. 4)

References

Hart, Chris. Doing a Literature Review: Releasing the Social Science Research Imagination. London: Sage, 1998.  (HKUST Library H62 .H2566 1998)

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.