Skip to Main Content

CHEM 4689 - Capstone Project

Library Subscribed Database vs Google / Google Scholar

Library subscribed e-databases Google or Google Scholar
  • Limited to subscribers
  • Open access
  • Formulate search strategies, e.g. truncation (comput*)
  • Full-text available or provide link to full-text
  • Simple, full-text may or may not be available; but they have limited search and filtering features.
  • Clear content coverage
  • Unknown subject contents, publication sources, and years
  • Include scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on highly specialized research areas.
  • Anyone can publish on the Web, with no quality control.

To browse the databases by subject, please go to Library Homepage > Databases > by Subject > Science

Identify Your Information Needs

Depending on the nature of your research, it's important to consider a variety of information resources to gather the most relevant and reliable information, here is an overview of the information needs and suggested resources:

Information Needs Types Suggested Resources
  • Definitions of key terms
  • Facts
  • Short review of a subject
  • Encyclopedias
  • Dictionaries
  • Handbooks
  • Statistics
  • Government
  • Company websites
  • Detailed study of a subject
  • E-Books
  • Scholarly research articles
  • Research results or analysis
  • Journal articles
  • Conference papers
  • Technical reports

Indexing Database

Direct Full-text Access
  • Specifications of the materials or methods
  • Standards
  • In-depth coverage of a topic
 Theses & Dissertations

Browse the Journals

Browse the Library Subscribed Chemistry Journals

BrowZine is an app that consolidates scholarly journals from multiple publishers and platforms into an easily browsable format, optimized for iPhones, iPads or Android tablets and phones.

Learn more about BrowZine
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.