Is a web-based service which provides users with seamless access to a large collection of citations and full-text/images of periodicals, magazines and newspapers in medical research, telecommunications and computer science, applied and general sciences, business, humanities and social sciences. Cross searching among all the databases is possible. Emailing or downloading of full-text articles is also supported.
PubMed.gov PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Web of Science Provides web access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science and Humanities. SCIE covers 7,100 international science and engineering journals. SSCI covers 2,100 social science and business journals worldwide. Both databases can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. CPCI provides bibliographic information and abstracts to papers in over 110,000 conference proceedings worldwide across 256 subject disciplines. All four indexes contain the references cited in the papers. Search Guide.
Scopus Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals, 750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade publications from over 4,000 international publishers. Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Most records in Scopus are linked to the corresponding original articles at the publishers' web sites. Full-text access is limited to the publications for which the Library has an electronic subscription. Search Guide.
HKUST Electronic Theses provides abstracts and full-text of HKUST doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global: the sciences and engineering collection This database includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from thousands of universities around the world since 1861. Where available, it also provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses published since 1637. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards. Full-text download in PDF format is restricted to most of the dissertations published since 1997 and HKUST PhD dissertations.Search Guide
中华人民共和国国家知识产权局专利数据库 provides abstracts and full-text of Chinese patents.
Esp@cenet is maintained by the European Patent Office. It provides abstracts and full-text of patents worldwide.
USPTO Web Patent Databases are maintained by the US Patent and Trademark Office. The databases provide abstracts and full-text of US patents.
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology is an authoritative manual used in laboratories worldwide for effective, reliable methods in molecular biology research. It includes chapters on protein analysis, DNA sequencing, preparation of DNA and RNA, in situ hybridization and immunohistochemistry.
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry provides step-by-step laboratory procedures for the synthesis, modification, purification, analysis, and utilization of nucleic acids. It includes everything from the basic fundamentals of lab work to the most cutting-edge methods. All protocols have been contributed by leading investigators in the field
Knovel provides the full-text of thousands of handbooks across the engineering and science subjects. It's "Data Search" feature allows users to search for science and engineering data directly.
Abstracts of Journal Articles, Conference Papers, and Technical Reports (Linked to the full-text of electronic resources subscribed to by the Library)
Web of Science (1991-) provides abstracts of articles in over 6,700 journals in science and engineering. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. Search Guide.
SciFinder-n (1907-) SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
Scopus (1966-) provides abstracts of articles in 16,000 academic journals and 750 conference proceedings, Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Search Guide.
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. It consists of three linked databases, PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay, within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology of the USA, this database provides data of thermochemistry (5,000 compounds), enthalpy of reaction (3,000 reactions), infrared spectra (5,000 compounds), mass spectra (8,000 compounds), ion energetics (14,000 compounds), etc. Data can be searched by name, chemical formula, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number, molecular weight, ionization energy, or proton affinity.
Other useful databases such as JoVE Science Education Databases, RSC Ebooks, etc.
Abstracts/Full Text of Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses
HKUST Electronic Theses provides abstracts and full-text of HKUST doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global: the sciences and engineering collection This database includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from thousands of universities around the world since 1861. Where available, it also provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses published since 1637. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards. Full-text download in PDF format is restricted to most of the dissertations published since 1997 and HKUST PhD dissertations
Full Text of Patents
中华人民共和国国家知识产权局专利数据库 provides abstracts and full-text of Chinese patents.
Esp@cenet is maintained by the European Patent Office. It provides abstracts and full-text of patents worldwide.
USPTO Web Patent Databases are maintained by the US Patent and Trademark Office. The databases provide abstracts and full-text of US patents.
Dictionaries (Compounds) and Encyclopedias
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry provides step-by-step laboratory procedures for the synthesis, modification, purification, analysis, and utilization of nucleic acids. It includes everything from the basic fundamentals of lab work to the most cutting-edge methods. All protocols have been contributed by leading investigators in the field
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology covers the fundamental principles, theories, and methodologies of nanoscience and nanotechnology as well as their applications in materials and surface science, mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering, computer technology, chemistry, biomedicine, and many other areas.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science & Technology provides the full-text of over 500 articles covering all areas of polymer science, such as polymers, plastics, fibres, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization, etc.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology provides the full-text of over 1,000 articles covering all areas of chemical technology.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry provides the full-text of over 1,000 articles covering all areas of industrial chemistry.
Physical and Chemical Data Sources
Index to Physical, Chemical, and Other Property Data is maintained by Arizona State University's Noble Science and Engineering Library. This site lists properties alphabetically and cites sources of the data. Most sources listed are reference books in the collection of the Noble Library, a few are chemical compound databases on the Web.
Knovel provides the full-text of thousands of handbooks across the engineering and science subjects. It's "Data Search" feature allows users to search for science and engineering data directly.
Materials Safety Data Banks
Sigma-Aldrich (MSDS) contains over 130,000 Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) from the US Sigma-Aldrich chemical company. An MSDS clearly defines a chemical, giving its composition, identifying any hazardous properties, outlining first-aid treatment in case of accidental body contact, and pointing out special firefighting procedures that might be needed. It also contains suggestions for responding to an accidental release of the chemical and for everyday product handling and storage.
CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Databases contain about 120,000 MSDS Data Sheets from North American chemical manufacturers and suppliers as well as toxicological data on over 140,000 chemical substances.
Abstracts of Journal Articles, Conference Papers, and Technical Reports (Linked to the full-text of electronic resources subscribed to by the Library)
Web of Science Provides web access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science and Humanities. SCIE covers 7,100 international science and engineering journals. SSCI covers 2,100 social science and business journals worldwide. Both databases can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. CPCI provides bibliographic information and abstracts to papers in over 110,000 conference proceedings worldwide across 256 subject disciplines. All four indexes contain the references cited in the papers Search Guide.
Scopus Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals, 750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade publications from over 4,000 international publishers. Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Most records in Scopus are linked to the corresponding original articles at the publishers' web sites. Full-text access is limited to the publications for which the Library has an electronic subscription Search Guide.
Abstracts/Full Text of Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses
HKUST Electronic Theses provides abstracts and full-text of HKUST doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global: the sciences and engineering collection This database includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from thousands of universities around the world since 1861. Where available, it also provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses published since 1637. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards. Full-text download in PDF format is restricted to most of the dissertations published since 1997 and HKUST PhD dissertations. Search Guide
Full Text of Patents
中华人民共和国国家知识产权局专利数据库 provides abstracts and full-text of Chinese patents.
Esp@cenet is maintained by the European Patent Office. It provides abstracts and full-text of patents worldwide.
USPTO Web Patent Databases are maintained by the US Patent and Trademark Office. The databases provide abstracts and full-text of US patents.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of ocean sciences covers ocean technology, law of the oceans, global programs, marine policy, and the use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate changes. Studies include ship-based systems to satellite remote sensing.
Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences This Encyclopedia comprises the current knowledge in marine geosciences whereby not only basic but also applied and technical sciences are covered. Through this concept a broad scale of users in the field of marine sciences and techniques is addressed, from students and scholars in academia to engineers and decision makers in industry and politics. Globally growing demand of energy and mineral resources, reliable future projection of climate processes and the protection of coasts to mitigate the threats of disasters and hazards require a comprehensive understanding of the structure, ongoing processes and genesis of the marine geosphere. Beyond the “classical” research fields in marine geology in current time more general concepts have been evolved integrating marine geophysics, hydrography, marine biology, climatology and ecology. As an umbrella the term “marine geosciences” has been broadly accepted for this new complex field of research and the solutions of practic al tasks in the marine realm. .
Encyclopedia of coastal science This thoroughly revised and expanded edition of the much acclaimed Encyclopedia of Coastal Science edited by M. Schwarz (Springer 2005), presents an interdisciplinary approach that includes biology, ecology, engineering, geology, geomorphology, oceanography, remote sensing, technological advances, and anthropogenic impacts on coasts. Within its covers the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science, 2nd ed. brings together and coordinates many aspects of coastal and related sciences that are widely dispersed in the scientific literature.
The water dictionary: a comprehensive reference of water terminology provides definitions for more than 15,000 water-related words, phrases, acronyms, chemicals, microorganisms, units of measure, formulas, and calculations.
Ocean Science Data Sources
The Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB) serve as an international repository of ecological and environmental related data.
DataONE is a community driven program providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.
NASA - Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) Ocean Data provides ocean data products describing many ocean processes including ocean circulations, winds, heat exchange between the ocean and atmosphere and the interaction of solar radiation with the ocean.