Science Research

What is a Citation Management Tool?

A citation management tool can help you to:

• import citations from library catalogs, databases, and Webpages
• manage and organize citations
• format citations for papers
• create bibliographies in different citation style (e.g. APA, IEEE, Nature, Science, etc)

Some popular citation management tools include:

• RefWorks 
• Endnote/Endnote Web
• Mendeley
• Zotero

Our Library has subscribed to RefWorks, see below an introduction to RefWorks

Description

RefWorks is a web-based research management tool that allows users to:

• build and manage personal citation databases;
• import references from various databases available via the Library;
• generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles;
• create in-text references, bibliographies and footnotes within MS Word by using Add-in Refworks Citation Manager (RCM); and
• export bibliographies in several file types (e.g. BibTex, RIS, XML).

Access

First-time users are required to sign up for an individual account with HKUST email. It is recommended that you do not use your ITSC password for security reasons.

RefWorks Help

RefWorks Libguide - It guides you step-by-step on how to use RefWorks. Videos Tutorials are also available.

Import References from Databases

RefWorks provides three options for adding references to your database:

• Direct Export - Export citations to RefWorks directly from databases with just a few clicks. Only works in selected databases.
• Import Data from Saved Text Files - Save references as a text file (.txt) in the databases and export to RefWorks using different filters.
• Manual Import - For databases that do not have the above two features, users can manually add references to RefWorks by entering the required information.

Below you will find importing procedures for major databases the Library subscribes to.

HKUST Library Catalog EBSCOhost Research Databases Google Scholar JSTOR

ProQuest ScienceDirect Web of Science

 

For databases not listed here, please refer to RefWorks Help pages.

 

Databases

HKUST Library Catalog

Export Record by Record

1. Conduct your search in the Library Catalog.
2. On a particular record, click Export to RefWorks icon. 
   
3. You will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
4. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top

---

EBSCOhost Research Databases

1. Conduct your search.
2. Mark the records you wish to save by clicking Add to Folder.
3. When you have marked all your records, under Folder has items, click Folder View.
4. Mark the records you want to export and click the Export icon .
5. Select Direct Export to RefWorks, and click Save.
6. You will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top

---

Google Scholar

To activate the direct export function, you must configure Google Scholar by clicking the Scholar Preferences link and selecting RefWorks as your default in Bibliography Manager.

1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar.
2. Each record displayed will have an Import into RefWorks link. Clicking on the link will launch the RefWorks login page.
3. Once you have logged in, you are brought automatically to the Edit view of the reference. If you do not wish to edit the record, you can navigate to any other area of RefWorks.
4. Your record is stored in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top

---

JSTOR

1. Conduct your search.
2. Select the records you want to export and click Export this Citation.
3. You are brought to the Export Citations page and select RefWorks.
4. You will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
5. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top

---

ProQuest

1. Conduct a search and mark the references you want to export.
2. Click the Export link.
3. Select Export directly to RefWorks.
4. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.
5. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top

---

ScienceDirect

1. Conduct your search.
2. Mark the records you wish to save by checking the box next to each record.
3. Click Export Citations.
4. Specify Content Format and select RefWorks Direct Export.
5. Click the Export button and it will open RefWorks Login page.
6. Log in to RefWorks.
7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top

---

Web of Science

1. From your search results, select the items you wish to save by marking the checkboxes to the left of the citations.
2. Scroll down to the bottom page and find Output Records.
3. In Output Records, choose your options.
4. Click Save to RefWorks to open the Processing Records page.
5. If the export process does not start automatically, click on the Export button.
6. Log in to RefWorks.
7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top

---